Our {belated} Sesame Adventure!

Standard

Sooo, I started writing this post the day we got home…a month ago. But, I still wanted to get it up to save the memories!

We spent the past few days at Sesame Place–our first vacation with the kids! Their first hotel experience and first amusement park adventure. As with any activity I plan for the kids, I have to spend the days (or in this case, weeks!) leading up to the excursion tempering my excitement with realistic expectations. Since Sam has been born, I’ve gone into things day dreaming about the fun we’d have, how excited he’d be, how perfect everything would go. This is starting to work a little better, but doesn’t work as well when you’re taking a 4 month old to see a firetruck (Note: he won’t care.) So this time, I was trying to keep things in mind like, my kids have never slept in a hotel. This could go very badly. My kids really, really, desperately need nighttime sleep AND naps to be functioning, human people so I knew at some point each day they would NEED to sleep. Neither of them is the best eater where fast food is concerned (not for lack of trying. It’s not because we’re above fast food, it’s really because I just can’t get them to eat it no matter what. This includes Chick.Fila, which is leading to some serious questions about whether or not they are indeed our spawn.) So I knew that for as much magic as these days could hold, it was a calculated risk that we could also end up with some very sad, hot, tired, hungry, grumpy kids.

It was wise to be realistic about these days. Because indeed it was hot, and there were lines, and the kids got hungry, and booooy oh boy did they get tired. But what I’ll remember from these days is pure magic.

The kids LOVED it. Sammy especially was crazy about the rides, even the tower-of-doom style Elmo ride that went up and down and made our tummies flip! He did the giant swings, the teacups, the spinning bug…you name it, he rode it, he laughed on it, and he yelled, “Again! Again! Again!” He loved the nets and climbing up the jungle gyms, and he loved the slides. He also loved the huge water slide that we all got to go down together. Piper was a trooper and put up with all of our ride riding and Sammy chasing like a champ. She was happiest in the tidal wave pool, where she happily splashed and giggled and soaked up some sweet daddy time.

The most magical part? Seeing the characters in real life. Hearing them squeal, “Cookie!!!” as CookieMonster walked by, seeing Abby CaDabby lean in to give my baby girl a kiss while she giggled. But the real joy of the trip was the parade. We lined up and got the kids ready to see all their Sesame Street favorites. The music started and I looked ahead and there was Big Bird–I took one look at Sam’s face when he saw him, and kid you not, I started to cry. I am 27 years old, and Big Bird made me bawl. My heart felt like it was just going to burst from happiness and from how blessed we are to be able to show things like this to our kids. I just kept thinking how many kids in the world want for so many things, and my kids are just getting to experience so much. It is my prayer that I’m raising them to appreciate these blessings as gifts, and not take a moment for granted.

It’s taken a few days to recover (we’re still recovering) and we have a big dent in our savings account, but it was worth every single bit of it. There is nothing that compares to seeing my kids so happy and being ablue to share such sweet family time. And the best news?? It rained on our second day, so we got Sunny Day passes to come back again for FREE!! Sunnay days, indeed!

One response »

Leave a Reply

