Resolutions

Standard

Last night I rang in the new year exactly the way I have for the past 4–sound asleep in my bed! Sbux has really ruined my ability to stay up light (not to mention the pregnany/postpartum years never had a shot to see midnight) so last night I had high hopes of actually seeing the ball drop. Didn’t happen, though, and it seems like maybe this is just my new years thing: sleep right through it. And as with every other year, the launch of 2012 has me making decisions and goals to better my life over the next 12 months.

Generally speaking, my new years goal is to shed whatever number of pounds I’ve deemed over my goal weight. The exciting part of this year is that all my pants fit, I trained hard for a half marathon last year, and for the first January of my life, losing weight is NOT at the top (or even on!) my priority list. This makes way for way more fun resolutions…such as, blogging!!

I LOVE blogs. Love, love, love them. Love reading people’s blogs that I know, love reading stranger’s blogs, and I especially love the strangers whose blogs I’ve been reading become friends. (Or BFFs even! :)) And whenever I read someone’s blog who keeps up with it regularly, I think to myself, “Wow! I wish I could do that. What a great way to preserve memories!” And then I list the reasons I could never do it–I don’t know if you’ve heard, but I’m disorganized, and I’m messy, and I work, and I have 2 little kids, and I’m trying to exercise, and I like to go to bed at 7pm. So I couldn’t possibly be good at blogging regularly. There’s just no way.

Well, move out of the way, excuses, cuz here comes 2012–the year of blogging! This year my goal is to make my computer use more productive and actually record the wonderful, difficult, hilarious, crazy, messy, silly, and beautiful parts of my life. And I’m not going at it alone–my friend Crystal had posted a blog recently about how she wished she was preserving her families memories as well, so we decided that we’re going to help each other out. Our goal is get posts up a few times a week (and we may or may not have set up a reward system as a small incentive.) I am SUPER excited about having a buddy along the way–and hoping that a bit of Crystal’s sweet spirit and wonderful parenting might rub off on me ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, if you’re reading this, I hope you’re ready for the ride! 2012 is going to be a year of stretching and growing and changing for our family, and I’m excited to document the journey. Join us!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

