6 Months of Piper Joy

Standard

Sweet Piper girl,

How is possible that you are six months old?? When your brother turned 6 months old, it felt like what were surely the longest months of my life. I was sure that time had stopped moving. And yet somehow, with you, every day since you were 8 weeks old has passed in the blink of an eye! I am amazed on a daily basis by how much joy and happiness you bring to our family.

I remember the night I knew you were coming to join us–even in the midst of labor, I was so scared of bringing you home. I knew we were mere hours away from having a family with 2 kids, and I still didn’t think I could handle it. I was scared of the sleepless nights; scared of caring for you and your brother by myself; scared that I wouldn’t be able to love you as much as I loved Sam.

And to be totally honest with you (you’ll learn that sugar coating things is NOT one of your momma’s strongest qualities….) the first few weeks of your life confirmed those fears. Your first weeks with us were difficult. You cried, and cried, and cried, and cried..and when you were exhausted from crying, it seemed it made you cry more. We didn’t sleep. I cried. Your brother cried. Your daddy tried to make us all stop crying. Your grandma’s came over every day to try to make us all cry less.

And then along the way, something happened. Your cries turned into smiles and giggles and coos. The nightly scream fests turned into long stretches of sleep, after which you’d wake up to eat, and instead of crying out for me, you would babble to your feet until I finally came to rescue you.

Your First Easter--wearing an outfit that was mine!

And now, at 6 months, you are nothing but a joy to this family. You are starting to LOVE your brother and every time he walks by you, you squeal and kick your little legs as hard as you can. You love when I sing “The Wheels on the Bus” especially if I use your arms and legs to make the motions. You think that it is SO funny if we tickle your neck with your own little toes (and girl, what I wouldn’t give to be that flexible….) You are extremely ticklish, especially on your little hip bones. You’re a chunky little thing, and even though you’re a year younger, you’re less than 5 pounds away from your big brother’s weight. Tipping the scales at about 18 pounds at your last checkup, it’s going to be time to start you on some solids soon, but for now I’m trying to still hold off as long as we can.

Memorial Day--so tough taking pictures of you two!

For awhile, you were sleeping about 12 hours, but recently you’ve started waking up once to eat. You go to bed pretty consistently at 7p and you put yourself to sleep. You also are a fabulous napper and put yourself to sleep for those too! You used to HATE the car and scream the entire trip, no matter how long it was, but now you’re a trooper. You are easy to take places, except that if you get tired you like to be on your belly in a crib, and have a tough time putting yourself to sleep sometimes. But you are SO happy and have smiles for everyone who sees you. You have 2 teeth already and are such a drool monster! We go through so many bibs around here. You also started sitting up and it’s so fun to see you being such a big girl! You’re getting stronger on your legs and getting better balanced. You also never stay where we put you anymore! You aren’t crawling forward yet, but you can go backward and turn yourself around to get wherever it is you want to go.

Piper Joy, all the nights after I found out I was pregnant with you, I wondered why God had given us such a surprise. And every day that I see your sweet face and listen to your little laughs, I know exactly why. I can’t imagine our family without you in it, and I am so excited to see you grow up more. You are the sweetest little girl I could have dreamed of having, and I am thrilled to be your mommy!

Love,

Mommy 🙂

Leave a Reply

