Finding the Beauty

Standard

I’ve never really been an organized person. When I was younger, I played at some friend’s houses who had their Barbie accessories neatly divided into like articles of clothing, matching outfits for all occasions, and little lined up shoes that always had their matches. I, on the other hand, kept my Barbies in or under my bed, and they were lucky if they were wearing an outfit at all, let alone a matching outfit. This was all much to my nearly-OCD mother’s dismay, and so on the occasions that my messiness simply became too much for her to handle, I’d throw everything into a box and call it clean. Years later, I was thankful when my first college roomates also shared my messy tendencies, because though our room could have put a boy’s dorm room to shame, at least we didn’t have to argue about it! When I met and married my husband, I was again relieved to find that my messiness wouldn’t be a problem, as I’d married someone just like me! We lived through our first year blissfully creating messes in our first apartment; watching the dishes pile up, lifting our feet over piles of laundry, and basking in the freedom to let the mess abound. The upside to both of us being messy is that in our nearly 3 years of marriage, I can count on one hand the number of housework-related arguments we’ve had. The downside is that neither of us has really pushed for us creating an organized and functional home.

When it was just Geoff and me, this wasn’t a big deal. We had friends over often enough that we got cleaned up on a semi-regular basis and our little chaos didn’t bother us. We ended up getting pregnant when we had only been married about 7 months, and right before little Sammy was born, we moved into our first house. As we prepared for the move, I was feeling like I really wanted to create a home for us. But old habits die hard, and the addition of a new little life did NOT make me a cleaner person!

Now, though, that we are a family of 4, the time has really come to start creating a home for us. When Geoff and I got married, a part of my vows was “to create a peaceful home, a respite from a sometimes hectic world.” I really want to live up to those vows, and I want my children to grow up in a home that is beautiful. Some of the creating of beauty doesn’t seem very glamorous–scrubbing the counters every night isn’t exactly my favorite thing. But waking up in the morning and making a cup of coffee in a clean kitchen? That’s beautiful. So this year I am on a quest to find and create as much beauty as I can in the world around me, and especially in the little world of my home.

As part of this quest, I am challenging myself to not only find the beauty, but to capture it in words that I will be able to look back on. So, this blog is going to serve as an opportunity for me to record and share the ways that I’m finding beauty in my life. I am looking forward to sharing with everyone who wants to read. I am not promising eloquence, but I am promising honesty. Feel free to come along with me ๐Ÿ™‚

4 responses »

  1. What a beautiful idea to include in your vows! I wish you great success and fulfillment! I also love to come into (either in the morning or when returning home) to a clean kitchen. Though this isn’t always possible, having the goal makes it sometimes happen.
    Best wishes to you as you accomplish your vision. And I love your blog design.

  2. I’m with you, momma! I spent a whole weekend last month really spring cleaning everything, and though my bedroom has always been a place of rest, I can’t even express how much more restful it has been now that there is no chaos floating around! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think its funny how much your current musings parallel mine–and I don’t even see you that much! I have some time off coming up, we should get coffee! ๐Ÿ™‚

    K

Leave a Reply

